Okay, gang, call me jaded, but after watching the octuplets' mom interview on Dateline last night with Ann Curry I came to the conclusion that no female of sound mind would raise 8 children (14 total) into the world without the agency/benefits of a job or companion in her life. It doesn't take a woman like myself, I'm almost 28, who has never been married and bore any children, to realize that fact. Yes, she does have the support of her parents and her college student loans, but how is she going to pay those loans back without meaningful employment (I have a 2-year degree and am still paying mine off but I have a J-O-B!!!) And her parents are not going to live forever; anyone who's seen them on television can see that they're aging.
People, I am at a loss of words on this subject. Take it away gang!!!
While I think this woman has a few issues, I am hoping that she has a village to help her because it will truly take a village to raise these children. I was listening to Kate on Dr. Phil this morning talking about how hard her first year was with her eight and my heart went out to this woman. I really don't believe she thought she would be having eight children, but all of the eggs took and she made the decision to keep them all. My problem with it is that, since she had six children, she shouldn't have been allowed to have any more. Infertility is basically for couples who can't conceive and shouldn't be used in this way. Her doctor is now under investigation. She definitely can't move forward alone. I would pass out if I found out I was even having twins, much less octuplets. Still, I pray for her and hope she will be blessed.
Wednesday, February 11th 2009 at 3:20PM
Kenya Wilson
I say her behavior is nothing more than the behavior of those women who constantly have plastic surgery to make themselves look and feel good. As long as you don't embrace your inner beauty, you will never have a full and complete happiness.
Sister Siebra-- I am bewildered! my 2 cents worth!
Thursday, February 12th 2009 at 11:21AM
Marta Fernandez
I am bewildered myself, but I can't help but ask if this would be considered a continuing topic in the news if she were not a woman of color. I also feel that the Dr. who took her money and implanted the embryo should lose his license for doing so and have to give the money back so she should use it to take care of those children. He told advantage of a situation.
Thursday, February 12th 2009 at 1:34PM
Marquerite Burgess
According some sources ..."Suleman, and her family had received death threats and had been getting messages that were "disgusting things that would never be proper to put in any story..." & ..."In her only media interviews, Suleman told NBC's "Today" she doesn't consider the public assistance she receives to be welfare and doesn't intend to remain on it for long"...
Anyone who wants to donate to these babies can do so online, because Nadya has a cute lillte website up soliciting online donations for the octuplets. Click the link below to see a picture of the website. http://news.aol.com/article/octuplets-mom-...
It was to my understanding that this woman is of Columbian descent, but if that is not the case then I stand corrected. She was working, in fact worked more than one job to pay for this procedure. Let's see how the rest of this unfolds. That Dr. still should lose is license and have to return the money to her.
Friday, February 13th 2009 at 2:28PM
Marquerite Burgess
From the beginning, I believed that something was major wrong with this story, and with every new report this belief gets more stronger.
If this is the same doctor in every case then something is not right. I am sure that my best friend is not the only on that refuseds not to believe that this doctor is going to go to prison because all of these children are his. I (pray)chant that this is not true although this woman does not seem to have the thinking process of a full grown adult in the first place.
And, may I ask, took what money? I hear that people with money can not even afford to try for a second time when the first fail because thay can not afford it. And, was this the same doctor thae helped her to get the $165,000 because the first pragancy was so hard on her BACK????!!!!Where did any of the money come from for the first implant and the second, etc and who watched the children while she wen to school and how can her bankrupt parents help her and who is a friend enough to stay up night and day with those children for how long, etc...this is an 18 year or longer affair not just ending when the media moves on with the next big story!!!!!
Thursday, April 10th 2014 at 6:47PM
ROBINSON IRMA
I repeat, "what money did this woman pay in the first place" and how did she earn this money while paying a baby sitter for the 6 she already ahd plus college tution, rent, food and shelter,etc????!!! And a doctor of the RICH again in the first place?
When will this woman be given a chance to allow the public to determine why they should continue to support her right to produce more children after all life does not stop at birth but it will if one does not have the basic needs of survival: food, water and shelter which so far I do not see how this mother her self has been able to do any of these for the children she had before these latest 8...
Does a FIT mother do these things...in the first place?Like have the children then say because they did not abort that it is now the duty of everyone else to take care of these children from her being a baby machine?!? I would have more respect if I could call her a baby making machine, but it is science that are producing these children and not a LOVING MOTHER and FATHER...And, I do have the Pope backing me in this argument how this against G-O-D and nature and even mankind...
Because this is only SELLING these children to the highest bidder..the public tax payer!!!!!!!
Thursday, April 10th 2014 at 6:47PM
ROBINSON IRMA